WeinsteinStuart L. Weinstein, MD

Ignacio V. Ponseti Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery and Spinal Deformity


  • Medical School - University of Iowa
  • Internship - University of California San Francisco
  • Residency - University of Iowa

Honors, Awards and Organizations

  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, President, 2005-2006
  • American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, President, 2000 - 2001
  • American Orthopaedic Association, President, 1997-1998
  • Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, President, 1991-1992
  • Scoliosis Research Society, Board of Directors, 1986-1988
  • The Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery: Associate Editor, 1988-1992; Board of Trustees, 1999-2002 ( Secretary, Treasurer); Board of Trustees- 2007- present
  • United States Bone and Joint Decade, National Action Committee, Chairman, 1999- 2003
  • International Center for Orthopaedic Education, Chairman, 1994-2006
  • ABC Traveling Fellowship, American Orthopaedic Association (Great Britain, Australia, New Zealand), 1985
  • A.R. Shands Award, Orthopaedic Research Society and American Orthopaedic
  • Association given for significant contributions to orthopaedics and recognition of
  • devotion of a significant portion of the professional life time to furthering knowledge in the fields of musculoskeletal disease, 2005
  • Bristol Meyers Squibb/Zimmer Award for Distinguished Achievement in Orthopaedic Research, 1999
  • Kappa Delta/Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Award for Outstanding Orthopaedic Clinical Research, 1998
  • Arthur H. Huene Award For Outstanding in recognition of outstanding contributions to Pediatric Orthopaedics Orthopaedics, 1994
  • Russell S. Hibbs Award, Scoliosis Research Society, 1998
  • Wood Lovell, M.D. - Pioneer Award for Clinical Research-Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, 1989
  • State of Iowa Board of Regents award, Faculty Excellence in Recognition for Oustanding Contributions to Higher Education, 2000
  • Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award; Roy J. and Lucille Carver College of Medicine 2003
  • Royal College of Orthopaedic Surgeons Thailand (Honorary Fellow) 2006
  • Royal College of Surgeons of England ( Honorary Fellow) 2007
  • New Zealand Orthopaedic Association (Corresponding Member)
  • Austrailian Orthopaedic Association (Corresponding Member)
  • British Orthopaedic Assosication (Corresponding member )
  • Deutsche Gesellshaft fur Orthopadie and Traumatology, DGOT (German Association of Orthopaedics and Traumatology) Corresponding Member
  • European Pediatric Orthpaedic Society (Corresponding Member)
  • Sociedad Argentina de Ortopedia y Traumatologia InFantil ( Honorary Member)
  • Australian Pediatric Orthopaedic Society (Corresponding Member)
  • Sociedad Argentina de Ortopedia y Traumatologia InFantil ( Honorary Member)
  • Australian Pediatric Orthopaedic Society (Corresponding Member)
  • German Society of Orthopaedics and Traumatology ( Honorary Member) 2006
  • S.I.C.O.T. (Societe Internationale De ChirurgieOrthopaedique Et De Traumatologie)
  • The Hip Society
  • American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons
  • Orthopedic Research Society
  • American College of Surgeons
  • American Academy of Pediatrics
  • "Best Doctors in America" Woodward and White Inc., 1994-Present
  • "America's Top Doctors" Castle and Connelly Guide 2001 to present
  • "Who'sWho in Science and Engineering 2006-present
  • "Who'sWho in Medicine and Healthcare 2006-present
  • "Who'sWho in the World 2006-present
  • Journal of Pediatric Orthopaedics, Editorial Board
  • Spine, Editorial Board


Educational Materials